HP LaserJet P2055 loses network connection

Given the number of hits after Googling for this issue, apparently a lot of people have problems with HP LaserJet P2055 and LaserJet 2015 printers.

The problem: after some time these printers can lose their network connection, and it not possible to connect to the printer in any way. The only thing you can do is restart the printer. Afterwards it will work again … for some time 😦

This HP link describes this issue and a possible solution.

In case the link would disappear for some reason, here’s the content:

ISSUE:

When a printer is connected to a network switch and it has not been used for a period of time, users may no longer be able to print. When in this condition, usually the printer also cannot be accessed through TELNET, FTP, or even through the Embedded Web Server. The printer even fails to respond to ping requests.
This issue is caused by the network switch disabling the port to which the printer is connected because it believes that the printer is no longer connected, due to a lack of traffic on that port. Most managed enterprise switches automatically disable a port if no network traffic has been generated on that port for a period of time, and will remove the MAC address of the device on the port from the switch’s MAC table. This process is commonly referred to as Aging .
SOLUTION:

The following solutions can be utilized to address the issue depending on the customers environment and business needs.
1. SLP Keep Alive – The Jetdirect can be configured to generate an SLP (Service Locater Protocol) multicast packet at specified intervals through a telnet session. At the telnet prompt, enter the command slp-keep-alive:x where x is the numeric value of the specified time interval (in minutes) which is less than the switchs aging value. For example, if the switchs aging value is 10 minutes, then an SLP Keep Alive value of 8 could be used. In this case the telnet command would be slp-keep-alive:8. A value of zero will disable the SLP Keep Alive option.
2. Static MAC Table Entry – A static entry of the printers MAC address can be placed in the switchs MAC table for the port that the printer is connected to. A static entry will not be aged since aging only applies to dynamic entries that are created automatically when the switch senses a device on a port.I

I succesfully applied solution 1 using TELNET and fixed 2 P2055 printers like that. It was pretty simple:

TELNET ip-of-printer
slp-keep-alive:8 (depending of the number of minutes you would like to configure; I used 8 since I did not know the switches aging value and it worked for me)
save

(you can get help with “?” and see the current configuration using “/”)

Unfortunately the P2015 printers don’t support TELNET, so for this does not apply to these printers. I have not tested this, but I guess if you have P2015 printers, solution 2 will probably be the best way to fix the issue for P2015 printers.

A possible solution as suggested by HP support is to configure the printer directly on each workstation instead of configuring it on the print server. I don’t agree with HP that this is a good solution (you lose central administration, you have to install the driver on each PC, …), but it seems to work.

According to what I can find on the net this issue is often caused by formatter PCB problems, and replacing this can also solve the issue.

4 thoughts on “HP LaserJet P2055 loses network connection”

  1. I had a similar problem with one P2015dn. We replaced the formatting board. and after a few months, it began to loose connection with both Network and USB.
    It was a heat problem with the large IC on the formatting board. I took a “cooling sink” or “heatsink” or what you call it, from a used graphic card and mounted it with a cable-tie around the board. I drilled three holes dia 15mm below the heatsink and three holes dia 15mm above the heatsink. now it works like a clock… Contact me if you want pictures or more info.

  2. I love hp printer support and its helped me improve my customer support in many ways. Its an easy yet very powerful tool. I started my search and found what i needed about how and what Web Based Support Desk Software was all about.. HP LaserJet P2055 loses network connection It2tp was easy to learn with and the best thing about it is that I can access my support tickets wherever I go through my iphone. – Damian

  3. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet
    my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

