Upgrading from Vista to Windows 7 (RTM)

I just upgraded my Windows Vista Business 64-bit to Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. I made some screenshots of the upgrade. It took a long time (between 3 and 4 hours, on an HP  notebook with an Intel Core Duo CPU T8300 2.40 GHz with 4GB RAM), but besides from the time it took, it went more or less smooth. I only had to uninstall an unsupported McAfee VirusScan (and replace with another antivirus product); the rest were minor compatibility issues.

I downloaded the Technet DVD ISO file, requested a key, and burned the DVD. Then from within Vista started setup.exe.

Most of the time when you are already running Vista you won’t have that much compatibility problems, so I skipped the compatibility check, and clicked Install now.

I selected the first option …

I accepted the licence terms and clicked Next

Now I selected Upgrade

In the compatibility check I got some isssues:

I uninstalled VirusScan 8.5, restarted my PC and had to restart all previous steps all over again.

Then the wait was about to start … copying files, etc …

After the first reboot I couldn’t make screenshots anymore, but if I remember correctly the only things left were:

  • Entering product key
  • Configuration of Windows Updates method (Use recommended settings)
  • Time zone
  • Activation
Leave a Reply

