VMware Workstation message: This CPU is VT-capable, but VT is not enabled

On a HP Compaq 6710b with Vista 64 bit installed and VMware Workstation 6.0.5, when launching the installation of Windows Server 2008 x64 (as Guest OS), the following message was displayed:

This CPU is VT-capable, but VT is not evabled (check your BIOS/firmware settings). You have configured this virtual machine to use a 64-bit guest operation system. However, this host’s CPU is not capable of running 64-bit virtual machines or this virtual machine has 64-bit support disabled.

For more detailed information, see http://www.vmware.com/info?id=152

Pretty straightforward how to solve this one, given the information above: enter the BIOS settings –>

System Configuration > Device Configuration > Virtualization Technology > Enable.

After booting the same message appeared. After another reboot, the message did not appear anymore.

3 thoughts on “VMware Workstation message: This CPU is VT-capable, but VT is not enabled”

  1. I discovered that my laptop also had VT disabled as a “HP best practice”. As stated in the message, you need to do a “power-cycle” which really means turning OFF the machine. I tried rebooting several times to no avail until I read the message again.. and again… and then it hit me ;). After turning of my laptop, I was blazing away x64 machines without hassle.

  2. In my case VT was enbaled in I7 CPU but not working even after several reboots. I had to disable Intel Txt IN BIOS ( Next to VT settings), then it booted fine

Leave a Reply

