Digital Camera Shutter Lag Comparison Table

If you’d like to compare the shutter lag of some digital camera’s, here is a handy comparison table, with links to reviews of the camera’s as well (by Cameras.co.uk).

8 comments on “Digital Camera Shutter Lag Comparison Table

  1. Good Morning,

    I currentlyhave a Canon G6, and the shutter lag is so anoying that I want to change teh camera; I am looking at either the Panasonic DMC G1 or the Olympus E 620 – as I really make use of the rotating and tilting screen on the G6, and want another camera that does the same.

    Please can you help; I used to have an ordinary SLR (before I wnet digital a few years ago) and my budget is around £500

  2. I have an Olympus E-620. There’s a lot more to it than just a hinged screen. I also just bought a Canon SX20, which is a far simpler camera than the Olympus to use, has a lot less special functions, but still has a hinged screen.

    I don’t want to be impolite, but I would suggest that, unless you are a committed amateur photographer, that little Canon SX20 is a more suitable camera, and a lot cheaper. And that’s advice from an Olympus-nut since 1978…

    The Panasonic G-1 and Olympus Pen are good cameras if you insist o spending more money than you need to achieve certain results. Look at the cost of a Canon SX20, or any of its rivals, since my selection work may have not been suited to you, and the cost of a G-1 or a Pen plus the three lenses needed to be completely kitted out, and compare that with the cost of an SX20 or similar.

    Shutter lag? On an Olympus E-620 it’s just the tiny fraction of a second that the mechanicals take to function. The effective lag, if you take a split-second to frame the shot correctly and focus on the prime subject in the shot, etc, before you press the shutter release, is 0.02 or two hundredths, of a second on the Canon SX20. In real-world terms 0.02 seconds = 0.

    If you count the time between pressing the shutter once the shot is ready in the viewfinder as the shutter lag, I would be very surprised if it were more than a tiny fraction of a second on any modern higher-end digital camera. If your idea of photography includes not focusing the numbers will be different…

    But it’s still a question of exactly what you want to improve.

  3. I was curious if you ever considered changing the page layout of your site?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two pictures.

    Maybe you could space it out better?

  4. My brother recommended I miught like this webb site. He was entirely
    right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

